Skip to main content

Established by Melbourne Symphony Orchestra percussionist Robert Cossom in 2004, the MSO Snare Drum Award is designed to encourage the pursuit of excellence in snare drum performance in Australia and New Zealand.

Open to undergraduate tertiary students from Australia and New Zealand, this award provides an exclusive opportunity for applicants to further develop audition skills and performance techniques in a professional environment.

2022 Snare Drum Winner

2022 Winner - Leah Columbine

Melbourne Conservatorium of Music percussion student Leah Columbine was declared the winner of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra 2022 Snare Drum Award after competing against percussionists from across Australia. Competitors performed for a live audience and adjudicators including MSO percussionists, premiering a new work by Australian composer Robert Oetomo. As the winner of the Award, Leah will receive mentoring from the MSO percussion section and will attend rehearsals throughout the year.

Special thanks

Prizes for the MSO Snare Drum Award are donated by Mastro Snare Drums, Zildjian, Evans, & Just Percussion.

The MSO Snare Drum Award is supported by the Hon. Michael Watt QC & Cecilie Hall and Tim and Lyn Edward.

Robert Cossom's position is supported by Dr Rhyl Wade and Dr Clem Gruen.

Stay tuned. Sign up.