Skip to main content


Individual tickets available from 24 October

General Admission

Standard $49 / Concession $44


Available now as part of a Chamber Series Subscription


Sunday 03 September 2023

11:00am at Iwaki Auditorium


Melbourne Ensemble


Paul Dean Suite for Clarinet & Cello
Paul Dean Septet
Françaix Nonetto

About this performance

Comprised of seven current and former members of the MSO, the dynamic Melbourne Ensemble returns to the MSO Chamber series.

  • Australian composer and clarinettist Paul Dean’s mischievously playful and deeply beautiful Suite for Clarinet and Cello pays modern homage to Prokofiev, Holst, Peter Sculthorpe, and vaudeville music. This program will also feature his Septet, commissioned for the Melbourne Ensemble by Andrew Johnston to mark the 90th birthday of his mother, Stephanie Johnston.
  • Jean Françaix’s Nonetto is a transcription of Mozart’s Quintet in E flat major for nine instruments, hence nonetto. A delicate and sophisticated arrangement of this intricate, charming Mozart chamber work.

Duration: approx. 1 hour and 45 minutes including interval.

Stay tuned. Sign up.